Candidates Page, Rutherford County, NC. 2020 Elections

Following are the Republican candidates who will be on the ballot in the November 2020 General Election. Rutherford County is now split between the 5th and 11th Congressional Districts. If you are not sure which Congressional District you live in, you can check your voter record on the NC Elections Board website. Those records have been updated to reflect this split. Click the link below to search for your records. After you search, click the Jurisdictions link to see which Congressional District you will be voting in:

Voter Registration Lookup

When we have been able to identify a candidate website we have provided a link to that site. We will continue to update those links as we are able to identify them.

Candidate Office Primary Website
Donald J. Trump US President Yes
Thom Tillis US Senate Yes
Virginia Foxx US House District 5 No
Madison Cawthorn US House District 11 Runoff
Dan Forest NC Governor Yes
Mark Robinson NC Lt. Governor Yes
Jim O'Neill NC Atty. General Yes
Anthony Wayne (Tony) Street NC Auditor Yes
Steve Troxler NC Comm. Agriculture No
Mike Causey NC Comm. Insurance Yes
Josh Dobson NC Comm. Labor Yes
E.C. Sykes NC Sec. of State Yes
Catherine Truitt NC Supt. Public Instruction Yes
Dale R. Folwell NC Treasurer No
Paul Newby NC Supreme Ct. Chief Justice No
Phil Berger, Jr NC Supreme Ct. Assoc. Justice No
Tamara Barringer NC Supreme Ct. Assoc. Justice No
April C. Wood NC Court of Appeals No
Fred Gore NC Court of Appeals No
Chris Dillon NC Court of Appeals No
Jeff Carpenter NC Court of Appeals No
Jefferson G. Griffin NC Court of Appeals No
Ralph Hise NC Senate District 47 No
David Rogers NC House District 112 No
Tommy Davis District 29A Superior Ct. Judge No
Corey J. MacKinnon District 29A District Ct. Judge Yes
Greg Lovelace County Commissioner District 2 No
*David Hunt County Commissioner District 3 Yes
Phillip Morrow Board of Ed. At Large No
Angel King Board of Ed. District 1 Yes
Tracy Short Board of Ed. District 2 Yes
Richard Ficklin Board of Education District 3 No
Rachel Thomas Register of Deeds No

*Note: Cosmo Pannell had to withdraw. The Rutherford County Republican Party Executive Committee has selected David Hunt to replace Cosmo on the ballot for the November election.

Paid for by the Rutherford County, NC Republican Party Executive
Committee. Not paid for by any candidate or candidate committee.